Skillet Bacon Jam Review

You might ask, “What the heck is Skillet Bacon Jam?”,  just like I did.  Well, read on and I’ll tell you! 

First of all, Skillet Bacon Jam is made by Skillet Street Food which is a Seattle based mobile diner where the food is served out of a vintage Airstream trailer.   Pretty cool! 

So just what is Skillet Bacon Jam?  Skillet Street Food “uses niman ranch bacon and renders it down along with onions, balsamic and other spices . It cooks for several hours until it is a perfect blend of smoky, tangy, savory and slightly sweet….basically spreadable bacony goodness!  USDA approved.”

I have to admit, when I first opened the jar, the contents did not look very appealing.  The smell of the Bacon Jam though is wonderful!  So, I stuck my finger in (don’t tell anybody) and tasted it.  Wow!  I loved the taste and then couldn’t wait to try it out in some food!  Skillet Bacon Jam has a slightly sweet, bacony taste.  I went to www.skilletbaconjam.comto read more about it and try to get some ideas of how to use it and found this:  ” We like to put it on our burger, serve it on crostini, perhaps on a grilled cheese, as a substitute for bacon on a BLT, or maybe the base for a vinaigrette.”  I then read some other reviews that I had found and they all basically said the same as what I had found on www.skilletbaconjam.com .  I wanted to try something different so I decided to try the bacon jam in scrambled eggs. 

I used approximately a teaspoon and a half in two eggs.  Oh my goodness!  The Skillet Bacon Jam was absolutely DELICIOUS in the scrambled eggs!!  My four year old and three year old daughters loved it too!  Now I can’t wait to try it with other foods.  In fact, I’m trying to figure out what to cook for dinner tonight using the Skillet Bacon Jam!

You really should go to www.skilletbaconjam.com and purchase some of this delicious stuff!  If you have any questions, you can shoot an email to eat@skilletstreetfood.com and they will help you out.

 
I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jenniferclay on September 1, 2011 at 10:40 am

    I have used Bacon Jam before! You are so RIGHT! It is GREAT! 🙂 I have not tried it on eggs but I think I just might! Great post!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dottie Gray on September 1, 2011 at 11:05 am

    I tried the Bacon Jam on my eggs and it was so delicious!

    Reply

  3. I have never heard of Bacon Jam, but it looks great on eggs. I might just have to get me some to try myself!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kelli Avery on September 1, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I have never tried this, but you make it sound super yummy.

    Reply

  5. I really want to try this we really love bacon in my house

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sandra Parrish on September 1, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    I’ve never heard of Bacon Jam before but your description of it sounds so yummy…the eggs look delish too. 😛 I really love bacon so i checked out their website and the recipes they had posted are very appealing to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

